U-Bahn Turin (IT)

Security was given top priority at the 2006 Winter Olympic Games in Turin. One of the showpiece projects in this connection was the new driverless subway system in this North Italian metropolis. Funkwerk handled the planning, delivery and installation of the video surveillance system on board the cars of subway line 1. The equipment of the operations control center, the video surveillance system in the stations, tunnels and Collegno depot were also part of the ordered system solution.

Turin was the first subway operation in Italy to be equipped with state-of-the-art digital transmission technology for transmitting and recording the visual information from some 600 cameras. In the meantime, Gruppo Turinese Trasporti (GTT), the operating company, had such good experience with the Funkwerk solution that the system was extended to another 6 stations on a route length of 3.9 kilometers in 2010. The system now incorporates 1200 cameras and covers 21 stations over a line length of over 12 kilometers.

Since the market launch of high-end class digital transmission technologies, many customers use previous transmission equipment in combination with LAN transmission. The disadvantages of the other method of transmission can be compensated by integrating these technologies, and overall offer a very cost-effective solution for the long-term protection of investments.

Special highlights
One of the most difficult technological challenges of transmitting images by radio from the trains in Turin is the closeness of the stations, which are only 500 meters apart on average, and the sharp curvature of one section of the line. Furthermore, real-time images have to be transmitted to a central control room from trains moving at up to 80 km/h.

CUSTOMER »Gruppo Turinese Trasporti (GTT)
LOCATION»Turin Italy
SCOPE OF ORDER »Over 1200 cameras
21 stations
> 12 kilometer line
REALIZATION »2005, continual expansion since 2010

Source of image: GTT / Metropolitano di Torino

U-Bahn Turin (IT)

Bei den Olympischen Winterspielen 2006 in Turin wurde Sicherheit großgeschrieben. Eines der Vorzeigeprojekte in diesem Zusammenhang war die neue fahrerlose U-Bahn der norditalienischen Metropole. Funkwerk hat hier die Projektierung, Lieferung und Installation des  Videoüberwachungssystems an Bord der Wagen der U-Bahn-Linie 1 übernommen. Auch die Ausstattung der Betriebszentrale, das Videoüberwachungssystem auf den Stationen, in den Tunnel und dem Betriebshof Collegno waren Bestandteil der beauftragten Systemlösung.

Turin erhielt damit als erster U-Bahn-Betrieb in Italien digitale Übertragungstechnologie der neuesten Art für die Übermittlung und Aufzeichnung der Bildinformationen von rund 600 Kameras. Die Betreibergesellschaft GTT (Gruppo Turinese Trasporti) machte in der Zwischenzeit so gute Erfahrungen mit der Funkwerk-Lösung, dass das System im Jahr 2010 um weitere 6 Stationen auf einer Streckenlänge von 3,9 Kilometer erweitert wurde. Insgesamt umfasst die Anlage nun 1200 Kameras, 21 Stationen und mehr als 12 Kilometer Länge.

Seit der Markteinführung digitaler Übertragungstechnologien der High-End-Klasse nutzen zahlreiche Kunden bisherige Übertragungstechnik in Kombination mit LAN-Übertragung. Durch die Integration dieser Technologien können die Nachteile der jeweils anderen Übertragungsart kompensiert und insgesamt eine sehr kostengünstige Lösung zum langfristigen Schutz der Investitionen angeboten werden.

Besondere Highlights
Eine besondere technologische Herausforderung bei der Funkübertragung der Bilder aus den Fahrzeugen in Turin ist die hohe Stationsdichte (im Schnitt alle 500 Meter) und die starke Krümmung in einem Streckenabschnitt. Zudem müssen bei einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 80km/h Echtzeitbilder aus den Zügen an eine zentrale Kontrollstelle übertragen werden.

KUNDE »Gruppo Turinese Trasporti (GTT)
STANDORT»Turin Italien
AUFTRAGSUMFANG ȟber 1200 Kameras
21 Stationen
> 12 Kilometer Strecke
REALISIERUNG »2005, laufende Erweiterungen seit 2010

Bildquelle: GTT / Metropolitano di Torino